Funny Mishaps

I obviously have plenty to work on. I live a very unhealthy lifestyle so as I have mentioned in previous posts, I signed a contract with Lynne. We selected a 5 things I needed to work on for 1 week. She required correspondence each day in order to ensure I was actually doing it. It didn’t go so well but I thought I’d share my Greening Disasters on here. Why are such simple task so difficult for me, you may ask. I’d like to know that myself lol.

1st Report (Promises)

Me : So I didn’t make it to the Bulk Barn but I promise to make toast and drink lemonless water first thing tomorrow.
I’m gonna walk at the cup in the mornings with my father until I get my crossbow set back up. Then I can Row for 15 minutes each day.
Good thing I making the easiest meal tomorrow because I suspect it will take me a long time to track down all of these strange organic ingredients.

Lynne: Glad for the report. Naturally, I was concerned. So far, so good. Pledging to make toast and drink lemonless water is an excellent step in the right direction. I will note it on your file. That’s right. You have a file.  Walking with your dad is good for two reasons. Excercise, and a little quality time. I fully support the endeavor. You can do this. Action Plan to obtain the crossbow? When are we expecting it? What’s your ETA? 15 minutes is a good start. I like it, I like it a lot.

Couldn’t help but note the phrase “strange organic ingredients”. I smile to myself, but feel a small lecture is in order. Not strange. “Healthy”. Beautifying. Delicious. Not strange. But frankly, at this point, so long as you pick them up I can deal with it.

Day 1 (Shopping Gone Wrong)

Lynne: It’s five to four. A great time to be starting dinner for this evening…If you haven’t stocked up on nice organic groceries, now is the time. I don’t want excuses either. So help me, I’ll be checking your crisper!
.
Me: Well, I must say, my organic shopping did NOT go well! First I went to the bulk barn and they didn’t have much of what I was looking for in organic. Then as I was at the check out inquiring whether the insane amount of plastic bags I had accumulated there were biodegradable, I realized I had forgotten my green grocery bags! I then had to drive back home and get those before I went to Superstore. I spent a lot of time searching for organic, antibiotic free and aluminum free products. I was not as successful as I had hoped. Only half the vegetables and fruit I bought were organic. I could only find antibiotic free chicken breast and the rest of the meat was just normal. I was pleased to easily find certain canned goods organic and aluminum free in the Naturals section. Even found almond milk there too. It took me a while to track down ingredients I didn’t even know what they looked like. Fortunately I ran into a few clients who I know are expert cooks to help me. I couldn’t find organic milk or eggs but I did at least buy eggs in environmental friendly cartons instead of styrofoam. I got everything on my list except extra virgin coconut oil, it looked like wax in a jar. Is that what it’s supposed to look like? It didn’t look right, so I skipped it for now.

Although only have of the groceries were organic, it’s still much better than the junk I usually buy. It also cost much less than I normally spend. That’s the good news so be proud of me and don’t hold this next part against me. The whole shopping thing took way too long, gave me a headache actually. By the time I finished it was almost 5:00 so I went to Water Street Bakery bought a u bake pizza, came home, popped it in the oven and took some meds and a pepsi. I’ll start bright and early tomorrow I swear. This whole organic shopping thing is exhausting and time consuming. I’m convinced more than ever that I should hire a personal shopper.

Lynne: Dying laughing. It’s bad. Okay, first things first. Organic milk and eggs will be found in the natural section, not the regular section. Also the only place in a grocery store you’ll ever find almond milk. Virgin coconut oil is more like a wax. It’s thick and you can scoop it instead of pouring it. The title is misleading. The herbs at bulk barn are never organic and I should have told you so. That one’s my fault, and I’m sorry. I should have went with you. I know where all that stuff is at Sobey’s and now it takes me no time whatsoever. It isn’t expensive, which is surprising. Tomorrow is an alright start date. After all, I didn’t give you enough guidance here. You won’t need a personal shopper. It will only get easier and easier. Just think of how fast you can locate a TV Dinner. Soon, you’ll find organic cheese that fast.

Day 2 (Cooking Gone Wrong)

No healthy smoothie this morning, my blender didn’t work. I did eat breakfast though. Pizza.
I drank nothing but lemon water all day, no pepsi, to make up for it lol. Tomorrow I’ll start having healthy breakfasts. I swear.
I went out and bought a blender and coconut oil this afternoon but I forgot my green bags again. 😦
I did cook supper but it didn’t go well. It took forever. I can’t remember the last time I spent that much time in the kitchen.
I peeled and chopped all the vegetables. Then I spent an hour washing dishes. My last green dishwasher experiment went terribly wrong.
All the dishes ended up with a baked on white film that wouldn’t scrub off so I had to soak 6 sinks full of dishes in vinegar then scrub them with soap and water.
Then by the time all of my dishes were all sparking clean, supper was ready. I was all proud of myself. As I was about to serve it my father called and asked what all I put in it. “It’s a boiled dinner, what do you think I put in it? Ham, onions, carrots, turnip, parsnips, cabbage.” He starts laughing at me and points out that I forgot the potatoes!!!! Yep, I did indeed forget one the main ingredients. It then took me another 45 minutes to scoop everything out of the pot into a big bowl, pour the juice into a smaller pot, peel chop and boil the potatoes to add them to the dinner. Despite all the mishaps, it did turn out good in the end though. 🙂

Day 3 (Confession)

No smoothie this morning. I went out to breakfast with a friend instead.
Still drinking the lemon water. Getting off the Pepsi is easier than I thought.
Didn’t have to cook supper after the huge pot I made yesterday. That
was convenient.
Oh and not sure if you noticed, I haven’t been reporting back about
exercising. Well that’s because I have  been doing it.
I was just avoiding the subject and hoping you wouldn’t ask.  I
thought I’d confess now after I actually did some today.

Day 4 (Doing It)

Finally tried the smoothie. It didn’t go so well.
It was all thick and lumpy, so I put it back in the blender but then the almond milk seemed to curdle and separate from the oats.
It took a lot of effort for me to even take a sip. It tasted ok but the texture was weird. I must not have made it right. Maybe it would be better without oats.
Still drinking the lemon water, still no pepsi. I did exercise.
Cooked the chicken pasta for supper and that went well.

This isn’t so bad.

Leave a Reply

